Work-Life Balance

So, before we get into things, a quick update.tumblr_o6ottqPZ2P1qzh4nao1_1280These came in today! 🙂

Things at my company are going well. Doing my best to push myself to be a better software engineer and become a more valuable asset to my company. Now, this is not only for them, but for myself. I know that I am competent, capable, and skilled; I just need to keep improving, growing, and honing my skills.

Now, onto some other shit…

I swear all I do is read motivational shit. I need constant reminders to keep going, keep fighting, push ahead, and forge my path. Since this is my computer science / programming / software engineering blog and I already wrote a 3-page motivational journal in my moleskine, I will spare this blog post the wrath of my self-motivation. Lol. Instead, I will tell about how I am moving forward.

So, first off, I finally succeeded in putting something up on my website. It’s not much, but it’s a start. It’s a page with a fixed position navbar and some content that talks about how I have no content yet. Lol. I used Bootstrap to do the navbar because I am lazy. I coded one before and had it collapsible too, but it was a bit difficult when I was hard coding it. I most likely will go back and hard code that just for more practice. If you want to check it out, here it is.

AXLJONDELACRUZ.COM

Now I don’t really know how others keep up a small project like this, but here’s my method:

I use Brackets as my text editor and I love it so far! Useful for small scale website development such as this. If you are looking for a simple, easy-to-use, for noobs text editor that does A LOT, look no further! Give it a shot. It’s free!

I am currently hosting on GoDaddy because of reasons (it’s pretty much the only one I’ve used so far) and I have no real issues with it. The only problem I have is when I am uploading files. For some reason, I have to upload one at a time. While that that is not really a big problem, when I do a complete makeover of my site, it becomes one.

To remedy this, I keep a local copy of my public directory and I then use FileZilla to FTP onto my site to upload any changes. Since I haven’t done too much work yet, this has been working for me. Maybe when I get larger, more complex projects, it won’t work, but for now, it’s cool.

The good thing about this is that I can view and test my site using Brackets before I actually deploy it. Now if I find something that works better, I’m sure I will be doing this for a while. If you have a different method, I’d like to know! Whatever might make my life easier, I am willing to hear it out!

Second of all, I’ve been listening to a bunch of podcasts and I realized that I need a mentor for my career path. I am using so many different resources for knowledge and practice, but what I do not really have is a person to aspire to be like. Not only that, I do not have my list of supporters and pushers that have helped me in my journey. Things that I need to complete and get together in order to really start making progress.

1/3 of the people above you, 1/3 at your level, and 1/3 below you

There should be a balance with the people that you surround yourself with. 1/3 of the people above you, 1/3 at your level, and 1/3 below you. Above you so that you can learn and be mentored, at your level so that there can be people there to struggle with you, and below you to give you a chance to improve yourself and reinforce your understanding.

Definitely need to work on finding that balance in my life.
….also need to work on adding content to my website. Lol.

Peace and love, friends.

tumblr_o6ottqPZ2P1qzh4nao2_1280

 

Leave a Reply

